About us Innovations arise at the interfaces of disciplines

Research and teaching at the Cybernetics Lab represents consistent interdisciplinarity and cybernetic research methods since four decades. As an interdisciplinary research association, it is an institute of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering of the RWTH Aachen University. The Institute for Information Management in Mechanical Engineering (IMA) with its integrated approach to information and knowledge management is supplemented by the methods of the Assoc. Institute for Management Cybernetics e.V. (IfU).

Interdisciplinarity is not a strategy but our way of thinking

The main areas of research of the information management section are data analysis, pattern recognition and artificial intelligence in the context of industrial big data, in applied machine learning and in the interaction of complex systems in mobile (intra-)logistics.

The research fields with focus on knowledge management arise from the socio-technical implementation of these core areas: the management of the digital transformation taking into account the dimensions of man, organization and technology, the research of information and communication technologies of hybrid systems as well as the optimization of engineering education.

We are drivers of innovation, research partners and trainers for young academics. We look forward to cooperating with you: in publicly funded projects (DFG, EU, BMBF, AIF and more), bilateral industry research or through services and expertise (for example, consulting, preparation of studies, conception and moderation of organizational processes).

The Cybernetics Lab is lead by Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Hopmann as acting director and his deputies apl.-Prof. Dr. habil. Ingrid Isenhardt and Dr. rer. nat. Frank Hees.

Show LessShow More
Logo Ima
Information Management

Chair of Information Management in Mechanical Engineering

Logo Ima
Knowledge Management

Chair of Information Management in Mechanical Engineering

Logo Ifu
Assoc. Institute for Management Cybernetics e.V.

Management Board

  • Prof. Dr. phil.
    Ingrid Isenhardt
    1. Stellvertretende Direktorin
  • Dr. rer. nat.
    Frank Hees
    2. Stellvertretender Direktor
      • Anas Abdelrazeq
      • Susanne Alves
      • Pia Benmoussa (geb.Bresenitz)
      • Jan Bitter
      • Esther Borowski
      • Kurt Capellmann
      • Lea Daling
      • Maike Diesburg
      • Chrismarie Enslin
      • Tabea Förster
      • Katrin Frings
      • Aymen Gannouni
      • Erman Gözü
      • Sarah Güsken
      • Marc Haßler
      • Frank Hees
      • Christoph Henke
      • Kathrin Hohlbaum
      • Carola Hoppe
      • Francesco Huber
      • Christina Ionescu
      • Ingrid Isenhardt
      • Robert Jungnickel
      • Marco Kemmerling
      • Samira Khodaei
      • Dennis Kreutzer
      • Johanna Lauwigi
      • Feifei Li
      • Daniel Lütticke
      • Nicolai Mathar
      • Sonja Mertens
      • Atul Mohan
      • David Müller
      • Tobias Müller
      • Sarah Müller-Abdelrazeq
      • Nicole Nelißen
      • Andreas Neubauer
      • Quang Ha Ngo
      • Thomas Otte
      • Andres Posada
      • Michael Rath
      • Petra Rogic
      • Vladimir Samsonov
      • Nina Schiffeler
      • Ralf Schmitz
      • Leon Senster
      • Sandra Stockem
      • Felix Szimtenings
      • Margit Werden
      • Johanna Werz
      • Yun Zheng
      • Hans Zhou
      • Mohamed Alhaskir
      • Leonie Beator
      • Riza Bektas
      • Jan Bierotte
      • Sehle Dagaslani
      • Arlind Damjani
      • Revan Kumar Dhanasekaran
      • Christopher Eck
      • Eashwara Erahan
      • Yannick Fleischmann
      • Bernd Frauenknecht
      • Elif Genc
      • Leon Greiser
      • Bernd Hankammer
      • Zahidi Betül Hisim
      • Antonia Holzapfel
      • Fabian Hübenthal
      • Nural Janho
      • Valeriia Kaliupanova
      • Anne Kerschgens
      • Jannis Kirchgässner
      • Ronja Köberlein
      • Luisa Kolovrat
      • Christian Kutsch
      • Bopaul Lutalakuemo-Nsiafumo
      • David Meier
      • Sarah Mohammadian
      • Alexander Nasuta
      • Ekaterina Nedorubkova
      • Ha Uyen Nguyen
      • Niklas Nolting
      • Luis Rickert
      • Konstantin Sapovalov
      • Camill Schneider
      • Pia Scholz
      • Daniel Schruff
      • Benedikt Schütz
      • Martin Schwarzbach
      • Andrey Stadnichuk
      • Judith Steinfeld
      • Nikita Surya
      • Tserendolgor Tsendsuren
      • Sebastian Ulrich
      • Paul Varney
      • Nikolas Voth
      • Muhammad Waqas
      • Faizan Zafar
      • Konstantin Zähl



      Student Co-workers

      16 + 10

      Technical and Administrative Staff (including Azubis)





      Natural Sciences








      Progressive since 1974

      IMA/ZLW & IfU becomes the Cybernetics LAb IMA & IfU. The interdisciplinary research continues to focus on knowledge and information management and corporate cybernetics.

      Logos Ifu Ima Aufkleber

      Within the field of production engineering, the analysis of industrial big data is gaining importance and is being established as stand alone research group. Univ.-Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Sabina Jeschke is appointed by the Deutsche Bahn as the board member for digitization and technology.

      Junior Professor. Dr.-Ing. Tobias Meisen takes over the junior professorship "Interoperability of Simulations in Mechanical Engineering".